¡Time For Affirmative Consent!

A fundraising show with silent auction commemorating the UN International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women, November 25, established by the UN to honor the Mirabal sisters. 

WHEN: November 18 - 26, 2023 | Saturday (11/18, 11/25) and Sunday (11/19, 11/26) at 3:00 p.m.

WHERE: St. John's Methodist Church, 1200 Old Pecos Trail, Santa Fe  

COST: $20 general admission, $10 or less for limited income

>> Purchase tickets online  <<


The Mirabal sisters were four sisters from the Dominican Republic, three of whom (Patria, Minerva and María Teresa) opposed the dictatorship of Rafael Trujillo, and were involved in clandestine activities against his regime. Code-named the Butterflies, the three sisters were assassinated on 25 November 1960.

This powerful and inspiring show opens with an excerpt from In the Time of the Butterflies, a play about the Mirabal sisters by Caridad Svich, based on the novel by Julia Alvarez.

The performance features the amazing talents of over 20 artists who share their work in theatre, video, music, dance, poetry, and art. Performers include Conductor Jan Gaynor, Alexis Corbin, Executive Director of KHFM, Political Activist and Actor Lila Quezada, Poets Mary McGinnis and Argos MacCallum, and Composer Valarie Morris. 

Lila Quezada and other youth who are political activists at Girls Inc. have worked to pass Affirmative Consent in the New Mexico State Legislature for 4 years now. We hope our show helps bring awareness to the wider community to speed it’s passage!

Proceeds go to Girls Inc., Esperanza Shelter Domestic Abuse Services, Solace Sexual Assault Services, Resolve, and the Coalition to Stop Violence Against Native Women. 

ASL interpreters available upon request at t4ac@yahoo.com.

Mirabal sisters



Julie Shapiro

Samantha Scarborough

Luana Berger

Rikki Carroll

Zeyah Pearson

Karima Tatum


Valarie Morris

Dr. Janice Gaynor

Luana Berger

Alexis Corbin

MaryBeth Britton

Sarah Hood

Bryan Hutchinson

Robi Mulford

John Boles

Mack Diltz

Beth Bates


Tamara Johnson

Whitney Jones


Candice Reyes-Chavez

Athena Rosser

Argos MacCallum

Beata Tsosie (Santa Clara Pueblo)


Mary McGuiness

Wayne Lee


Lila Quezada

Isabella Vermooten

Meghan Kaschner

Ruby Reyes-Tapia

Leevee Martinez

Alena Schaim

Scott Harrison

Amber Quintana

Dave Baskett


Tiffany Jiron (Isleta Pueblo)

Jarrod Cordova